Overheating Mystery Solving 2016 FJR

Tech section strictly for the FJR. Everything from oil changes & suspension setup's to removing sheep hair from hard to reach places on the bike so that your wife never finds out.
raYzerman
Contributor
I post more than I ride
FJRModel: 2010 Honda CBF1000FA

Overheating Mystery Solving 2016 FJR

Post by raYzerman »

I posted this on FJROwners also. I wasn't quite sure if this should be in the "I Have a Complaint" thread, or maybe later in the Good News thread. Well it is kinda technical, so here we go.

An interesting story to tell, I'll give you details but try not to hold you in suspense too much. The answer is rather unbelievable. I have a lot of FJR experience with my own FJR's and from the many years of FJR tech days I've had, and even here many think I know all things FJR (and I thank you for the many compliments), but this one's a new one on me. Old, but never too old to learn something. I'm frustrated and pissed, partly because I couldn't solve the problem and well, you'll see why.......

Background, 2016 FJR with trans recall performed @55-something k kms. Current mileage just over 56 k kms, it really hasn't gone far at all. Buddy J was riding from here to Ohio for an annual event we have, we get a call..... broken down, gonna be late...... bike overheated and spewed out a bunch of coolant. When it cooled down, filled the rad and started the bike, didn't take too long when it boiled over again..... had it towed to a local dealer, but too late to get it in for a look..... we have a trailer, so I gladly go pick him up there. We get to the event after dark, unload the bike so we can work on it in the parking lot in the morning. While I wait, I check with parts department and no thermostats in stock, apparently have to come from Japan, which will take around 3 weeks.